The Beginning of A Business in Machias Maine. Rier Buick. 1949.

My Dad, James “Gene” Rier, left the US Army Corp in 1945 after serving at West Point as a pilot instructor. He and my mother, Louise, moved to Calais for a little over a year where Dad worked at the mill to save money to start a business. In the garage of their rented home, Dad cut the logs for a cabin. The next year, he built that cabin on Dublin Street in Machias where his family lived while he constructed the building for his business and a second floor apartment for their growing family.

By 1949, they had two sons: my brother “Jimmy” age four and David, born that year. Dad managed to secure the franchise to sell Buick automobiles, operate a dealership, repair shop and sell parts. Soon, he added Pontiac to his line of cars and the business became “Rier Buick Pontiac.” Later he added Chevrolet and GMC to his inventory at “Rier Motors,” located at the corner of Dublin Street and the Roque Bluffs road.

log-cabin

My mother kept the photos of that time period in an album. She cut titles out of magazines to tell the story of their humble beginnings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 thoughts on “The Beginning of A Business in Machias Maine. Rier Buick. 1949.”

  1. You have no idea how much I enjoyed this story. Your dad and my Uncle Stanley were such good friends and we grew up across the field from Ray and Pat. Not to mention reading about his friendship with uncle Bud. Thank you so much for sharing 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Caroleah! There were so many pictures and newspaper articles in my parents’ albums. I enjoy writing the stories and sharing them. Growing up, I so enjoyed visiting my grandmother, aunts, uncles and cousins in Lubec. Uncle Raymond and Aunt Pat were so special. We have great memories of Lubec and family!

      Like

Leave a comment