My Great Great Grandmother Elsie Fuller Berry Means

She is the great granddaughter of Westbrook Berry one of the “original 16” to settle Machias, Maine and a direct descendent of the first white child born there. She married Otis Witham Means in 1837. This portrait is part of a collection made my great grandfather’s niece, Grace Adele Means. Her mother, Francis Adele died when Grace was a child and she was raised by Elsie Means, her grandmother. Grace sent this collection of ancestors’ photos to my great grandfather William Means, my grandmother Harriet Means Johnson and my mother Louise Adele Johnson Rier in 1924, when Mom was 4 years old.

The Berry family came from Devonshire England with the Mason colony in 1630, originally settled along the Piscataqua River that later divided the states of Maine and New Hampshire.

They eventually settled in Machiasport, Maine where Benjamin Berry took his land title from the Indians at “Berry Farm.”

“This colony brought the first cattle to New England and were looked upon with contempt by the Mass. Colony, for they came to fish not pray.”

“On this land I was born, land always owned by one of the Berry family.” ~ Grace Means

From Grace to William:

scan-1

From Grace to my mother:

“She was the perfect mother. I know for she was a mother to me when God took mine.” – Grace Adele Means

elsie-back

It’s nice to know that I am not the first to blog about Elsie Fuller Berry Means. After a summer family gathering a few years ago, my son Eric Snowdeal III was “photoblogging” about the ancestors!

Leave a Reply

